Institut für Anorganische Chemie und Kristallographie


Institute of ­Inorganic Chemistry

Our research covers many fields. Currently, five research groups work in the Institute with particular focus on synthesis, advanced characterization and application of new types of molecules and functional materials.

Research Groups

Kersting Group 2023. Picture by Berthold Kersting.
Das Bild zeigt ein Gruppenfoto des AK Kohlmann.
The members of the working group of Prof. Dr. H. Krautscheid introduce themselves.

Professor emeritus

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Lothar Beyer
Prof. Dr. Horst Hennig
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kirmse
Prof. Dr. Joachim Sieler


Institute Management

Prof. Dr. Berthold Kersting

Managing Director

Anorganische Chemie/Koordinationschemie
Hauptgebäude Chemie
Johannisallee 29, Room 150
04103 Leipzig

Phone: +49 341 97-36143
Fax: +49 341 97-36199


Constanze Klemm

Hauptgebäude Chemie
Johannisallee 29, Room 145
04103 Leipzig

Phone: +49 341 97-36160

Office hours
Monday, Wednesday and Thursday:
10:00 - 12:00


The Institute of Inorganic Chemistry is located at Johannisallee 29, approx. 3 km from the city centre. There are regular trams (lines 2 and 16) from the city centre and main station. The tram station is near the main entrance.