Historical

Chemistry can look back upon a more than three hundred year development at Leipzig University, which was founded in 1409. It can be traced back to the start with MICHAEL HEINRICH HORN (1668-1681) and the beginning of mineralogy with KARL FRIEDRICH NAUMANN (1842-1870).

With OTTO LINNE ERDMANN (1872/31-1869), founding publisher of the Journal für Praktische Chemie in the year 1834, the first Chair for Chemistry (Professorship of Chemical Technology) was established at the Faculty of Philosophy.  The first chemical laboratory was housed in the basement of the Pleißenburg in 1804, where the Neues Rathaus stands today. Presiding over this laboratory was CHRISTIAN GOTTHOLD ESCHENBACH. In 1843 OTTO LINNE ERDMANN moved to a new, better equipped laboratory in the Fridericianum.

The greatest achievements in chemistry in Leipzig are connected to names such as HERMANN KOLBE (1865-1884), JOHANNES WISLICENUS (1885-1902), GUSTAV HEINRICH WIEDEMANN (1871-1887), WILHELM OSTWALD (1887-1906, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 1909), ERNST OTTO BECKMANN (1897-1912), ARTHUR HANTZSCH (1903-1930) and BURCKHARDT HELFERICH (1930-1945).

The chairs during the difficult times after World War II were LEOPOLD WOLF (1945/47-1961), WILHELM TRIEBS (1951-1961), HERBERT STAUDE (1947-1959) and EBERHARD LEIBNITZ (1951-1968).

In 1951 the Chair for General, Inorganic and Organic Chemistry was split into two, yielding the Chair for Inorganic Chemistry and the Chair for Organic Chemistry, while also establishing the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry as well as the Institute of Organic Chemistry. By this time, the Chemical Laboratories belonged to the Mathematical and Natural Sciences Faculty. Simultaneously, the rebuilding of the laboratory building on Liebigstraße and Linnestraße, which had been destroyed by an Anglo-American bombing on December 4th 1943, commenced. HEINZ HOLZAPFEL, MANFRED MÜHLSTÄDT and GERHARD GEISELER filled the direction of the institutes until 1968.

Back in May of 1938, the Pharmaceutical Chemistry under KARL HUGO FRIEDRICH BAUER had split from the group of Chemical Institutes and formed their own Institute of Pharmacy. Biochemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, formally belonging to the Mathematical and Natural Sciences Faculty (Phil. II), later became part of the Life Sciences and the Faculty of Medicine.

Mineralogy, Crystallography and Petrography were developed under the chairs of KARL FRIEDRICH NAUMANN, FERDINAND, ZIRKEL (1870-1909), FRIEDRICH RINNE (1909-1928), KARL-HERRMANN SCHEUMANN (1928-1945), HERBERT PÜHRER (1946-1960) and HERMANN NEELS (1960-1978) in equal measure to chemistry at the Faculty of Philosophy and later in the Mathematical and Natural Sciences Faculty. During the chair of PETER PFAULER (1978-1992) more emphasis was placed on Crystallography. The scientific achievements and mineralogical collections were known and respected internationally.

In the course of academic reform, the institutes were combined into a Section of Chemistry (founding director: SIEGFRIED HAUPTMANN) on June 15th 1968. At first, it was structured into five research collectives, then in 1972 restructured into fourteen work groups including Crystallography. These were then condensed into eight scientific areas, including Crystallography on an equal footing, in 1982.

After the German Reunification in October 1990, CORNELIUS WEISS became the section director following a secret election. After taking up his first rectorate, his deputy HORST WILDE followed him already in March of 1991. Together with vice-directors ROLF BORSDORF and KONRAD QUITZSCH, he lead the department of chemistry at the Mathematical and Natural Sciences Faculty, during which time the Interdisciplinary Institute for Nature and Environmental Protection became affiliated, until January 19994.

On the basis of the Sächsisches Hochschulgesetz passed on August 4th 1993, the Institutes of Analytical Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Physical and Theoretical Chemistry; Chemical Technology and Mineralogy, Crystallography and Material Science were founded on December 2nd 1993. Combined with the Interdisciplinary Institute for Nature and Environmental Protection, Chemistry Didactics and the Technical-economical section, on January 14th 1994 under the first rectorate of the Professor for Theoretical Chemistry, CORNELIUS WEISS, the Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy of Leipzig University was established.

last modified: 27.02.2019

Geschichtliches

Die Chemie blickt auf eine mehr als 300- jährige Entwicklung an der im Jahre 1409 gegründeten Leipziger Universität zurück, und beginnt namentlich mit MICHAEL HEINRICH HORN (1668-1681). Die Anfänge der Mineralogie werden mit KARL FRIEDRICH NAUMANNs (1842 - 1870) Wirken verbunden.

Mit OTTO LINNE ERDMANN (1827/31-1869), Gründungsherausgeber des Journals für Praktische Chemie im Jahre 1834, wurde das erste Ordinariat für Chemie (Professur für Technische Chemie) an der Philosophischen Fakultät eingerichtet. Das erste Chemische Laboratorium wurde 1804 in den Kellerräumen der Pleißenburg angesiedelt, auf deren Standort sich heute das Neue Rathaus befindet. Der Vorstand dieses Laboratoriums war CHRISTIAN GOTTHOLD ESCHENBACH. Im Jahre 1843 bezog OTTO LINNE ERDMANN ein neues, für damalige Zeiten recht gut ausgestattetes Laboratorium im Fridericianum.

Die großen Leistungen der Leipziger Chemie sind mit klangvollen Namen verbunden, wie HERMANN KOLBE (1865-1884), JOHANNES WISLICENUS (1885-1902), GUSTAV HEINRICH WIEDEMANN (1871-1887), WILHELM OSTWALD (1887-1906; Nobelpreis für Chemie 1909), ERNST OTTO BECKMANN (1897-1912), ARTHUR HANTZSCH (1903-1930) und BURCKHARDT HELFERICH (1930-1945).

Die Ordinarien der schweren Zeit nach dem 2. Weltkrieg waren LEOPOLD WOLF (1945/47 -1961), WILHELM TREIBS (1951-1961), HERBERT STAUDE (1947-1959) und EBERHARD LEIBNITZ (1951-1968).

Die Trennung des bis dahin einen Ordinariats für Allgemeine, Anorganische und Organische Chemie in zwei gleichrangige, das Ordinariat für Anorganische Chemie und das Ordinariat für Organische Chemie mit gleichzeitiger Gründung der Institute für Anorganische Chemie und Organische Chemie, erfolgte 1951 bereits innerhalb der nunmehr akademischen Zugehörigkeit der Chemischen Laboratorien zur Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und ging etwa zeitgleich einher mit dem Wiederaufbau der durch einen anglo-amerikanischen Bombenangriff am 04. Dezember 1943 fast völlig zerstörten Laborgebäude in der Liebigstraße und Linnestraße. In der Leitung der Institute folgten bis 1968 HEINZ HOLZAPFEL, MANFRED MÜHLSTÄDT und GERHARD GEISELER.

Bereits im Mai 1938 hatte sich die Pharmazeutische Chemie unter KARL HUGO FRIEDRICH BAUER mit der Bildung eines eigenen Institutes für Pharmazie vom Verbund der Chemischen Institute abgelöst. Biochemie und Pharmazeutische Chemie, zunächst ebenfalls in der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät (Phil .II) angesiedelt, wurden danach an die Medizinische Fakultät und zu den Biowissenschaften abgegeben.

Mineralogie, Kristallographie und Petrographie haben sich unter den Ordinariaten von KARL FRIEDRICH NAUMANN, FERDINAND ZIRKEL (1870-1909), FRIEDRICH RINNE (1909-1928); KARL-HERRMANN SCHEUMANN (1928-1945), HERBERT PÜHRER (1946-1960) und HERMANN NEELS (1960-1978) gleichberechtigt mit der Fachrichtung Chemie in der Philosophischen Fakultät, danach in der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät entwickelt. Unter dem Ordinariat von PETER PAUFLER (1978-1992) erfolgte der verstärkte Ausbau der Kristallographie. Die wissenschaftlichen Leistungen und Mineralogischen Sammlungen waren international geachtet und bekannt.

Im Zuge einer Hochschulreform wurde am 15. Juni 1968 durch Zusammenführung der Institute die Sektion Chemie (Gründungsdirektor: SIEGFRIED HAUPTMANN) gebildet, zunächst in fünf Forschungskollektiven und ab dem Jahre 1972 in vierzehn Arbeitsgruppen einschließlich der Kristallographie strukturiert, die man später (1982) in acht Wissenschaftsbereichen einschließend den gleichrangigen Fachbereich Kristallographie konzentrierte.

Nach der deutschen Vereinigung im Oktober 1990 wurde CORNELIUS WEISS in geheimer Wahl Sektionsdirektor . Wegen der Übernahme seines ersten Rektorats folgte bereits im März 1991 sein ebenfalls gewählter Stellvertreter, HORST WILDE, als Direktor des nunmehrigen Fachbereichs Chemie. Zusammen mit den Stellvertretern ROLF BORSDORF und KONRAD QUITZSCH leitete er den Fachbereich Chemie der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, dem in dieser Zeit das Interdisziplinäre Institut für Natur-und Umweltschutz angegliedert wurde, bis zum Januar 1994.

Aus den am 2. Dezember 1993 gegründeten Instituten für Analytische Chemie; Anorganische Chemie; Organische Chemie; Physikalische und Theoretische Chemie; Technische Chemie; Mineralogie, Kristallographie und Materialwissenschaft sowie dem Interdisziplinären Institut für Natur- und Umweltschutz, dem Bereich Chemiedidaktik und der Betriebseinheit Technisch-ökonomischer Bereich wurde am 14. Januar 1994 auf der Grundlage des Sächsischen Hochschulgesetzes vom 04. August 1993 unter dem ersten Rektorat des Professors für Theoretische Chemie, CORNELIUS WEISS, die Fakultät für Chemie und Mineralogie der Universität Leipzig gebildet.

letzte Änderung: 29.04.2013