Corona 2020

Information about the start of the semester - April 3, 2020

During the day, there was some confusion in the media about the starting date of the semester at the universities. At Saxony's universities, including Leipzig University, the lecture period will begin as planned on Monday, April 6, 2020 - in digital formats, of course.

Information on Study Start Summer Semester 2020

  1. Module enrolment shall take place as scheduled i.e. from 25.03.2020 at 12:00 noon until 01.04.2020 at 17:00 hrs via TOOL. Please be aware that some of the choice-obligatory modules with a low number of participants might not be offered during the summer semester 2020. Please stay informed, as changes might take place at short notice. If a module you have chosen should not be offered, you will have the possibility to sign up for an alternative module at the Office of Study Affairs.
  2. The semester is going to start as planned on 06.04.2020. Furthermore, the management of the University of Leipzig assumes that teaching will most probably take place in a virtual form and without attendance until 04.05.2020. For this reason, the Office of Study Affairs will provide the lecturers with a list of participants of all modules after the registration period has ended. Lecturers are requested to use 'Moodle' for the digital start of the semester. Furthermore, the Computer Centre of the University of Leipzig (URZ) has created a chat server, in which lecturers and students will be able to exchange information about the content of courses and lectures. Furthermore, consultation with each other will also be possible via this chat server. Courses and exams are going to be modified in such a way that students are not going to have any disadvantages due to extended study periods. We kindly ask you to please check your university mailboxes on a daily basis to ensure a smooth course of studies! In case of lecturers streaming their course/lecture via video conference, the lectures may take place at the same time as noted on the timetable.
  3. The following new regulation refers to final theses (BSc and MSc theses) and choice obligatory practical courses: submission is going to be accepted with a maximum delay of one month. However, the submission deadline indicated on the green- and yellow sheet is not going to be changed. Nonetheless, students must contact the Office of Study Affairs if submission is going to be delayed.
  4. BSc and MSc theses have to be submitted electronically (as PDF) to the Office of Study Affairs. The theses are then going to be forwarded electronically to the reviewers. Accordingly, protocols of the choice obligatory practical courses have to be sent electronically to the respective supervisor. Until face to face teaching starts again the same rules and regulations also apply to colloquia. This was also already mentioned under the point "Information on the Course of Studies - Status March 19, 2020".
  5. Due to the current situation (curfew, minimum operation of the University) final theses and choice obligatory practical courses that require personal attendance should not be started or continued as planned. Due to the unlikely situation that experimental work is going to be possible during the upcoming weeks, the following applies as far as possible: It will be possible to carry out final theses and choice obligatory practical courses without actual presence in the laboratory, e.g. in form of literature work or as evaluation of data that is already available. The laboratory protocol can be supplemented by an extended introduction. This could be based on literature research. In any case an extension of the study period should be avoided.
  6. It is recommended, instead of doing the first or second choice obligatory practical course in the summer semester 2020, to take modules with the same scope of credits which can be done in a virtual format; In return, lecture modules should be replaced with choice obligatory practical courses in the following winter semester. In order not to extend the study duration it is possible, in the case of the third choice obligatory practical course, to replace the experimental work with literature research comprising a corresponding workload.
  7. Compulsory practical courses in the summer semester 2020 (according to the study schedule) may be shortened but are still going to be offered during the semester (1.4.-30.9.2020). Students are going to be provided with more detailed information before face to face teaching resumes.
  8. All examinations and, if possible, all oral examinations are going to be postponed to 18.05.2020 the earliest and will be announced at least four weeks in advance. For examinations that cannot be postponed due to the issue of an extended study period it is possible that these be held via video chat devices (e.g. Skype). Exams via telephone, however, are not permitted. In the event of illness, a medical certificate will not be required until the start of the new examination period. Nevertheless, in case of illness and cancellation of an exam please inform the Office of Study Affairs via a short email.

New information on module enrollment - March 23, 2020

Dear students,

please note that we ask you to please keep an eye on the latest timetables in the Bachelor's and Master's programs once module registration has ended. Due to the current requirements for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19, some of the choice-obligatory modules with a low number of participants might not be offered during the summer semester 2020. Please stay informed, as the changes might take place at short notice. If a module you have chosen should not be offered, you will have the possibility to sign up for an alternative module at the Office of Study Affairs. We apologize for these exceptional circumstances.

Information on the Course of Studies - Status March 19, 2020

  1. Please note that the Office of Study Affairs is closed for all personal appointments on site until further notice! All important matters must be clarified via e-mail or telephone. During the regular contact hours we are available for you on the phone.
  2. Examinations, which can be postponed in cases where a completion of a degree course is not endangered, will take place from 15 May at the earliest. The examination dates are published online. Oral examinations will be held via video transmission, e.g. Skype, Zoom, Facetime. Medical certificates and sick notes do not have to be submitted at this time.
  3. The electronic module registration period remains as scheduled, i.e. you can register online in TOOL 25th March 12 noon till 01st April 5 pm.
  4. Qualification theses (Bachelor and Master theses, laboratory specialization courses) can now be started or further worked on in agreement with the respective Faculty teacher. The same deadlines apply as before. Bachelor's and Master's theses should only be submitted electronically (PDF document) to the Office of Study Affairs. Your document will then be forwarded to the reviewers. The submission deadlines have to be kept. Colloquia on Bachelor’s or Master’s theses should preferably be held via video transmission (see above). The first examiner will take minutes and note the candidate's confirmation that he/she is physically able to take part in the colloquium. Should an alternative to actual physical presence not be possible, then only the person to be examined in addition to the two examiners may be present.
  5. The start of the summer semester 2020 remains 1 April 2020, lectures shall begin on 6 April 2020 and will end on 17 July 2020.  Merely, face-to-face teaching has been postponed to 4 May 2020. Up to the start of the actual attendance time digital formats shall be used for lectures.
  6. In addition, Mrs Mann’s cash desk (Room 132) is closed. For this reason, payment for glass damage is not possible until further notice.

Corona measures affecting PhD projects

For a PhD defence you can opt for either of the following procedure:

  1. The defence may be carried out at a later point in time, i.e. when face-to-face teaching for students will resume (presumably4.5.2020).
  2. The defence may take place in the presence of a quorate doctoral committee. The doctoral candidates confirm with their signature that they agree to the exclusion of the public and that they are in good health to carry out the defence. Should individual members of the public wish to take part in the defence, please note that this may only take place at the decision of the PhD Commission and at an appropriate distance (at least 2 m) and with documentation of the persons present.
last modified: 04.04.2020

Contact

For students

E-Mail

For PhD candidates

E-Mail

Corona 2020

Information zum Semesterstart - Stand 03.04.2020

Im Laufe des Tages gab es in der Berichterstattung zum Semesterbeginn an den Hochschulen einige Verwirrung um das Datum. An Sachsens Universitäten, inklusive unserer Universität Leipzig, beginnt die Vorlesungszeit wie geplant am Montag, 6. April 2020, natürlich mit digitalen Formaten.

Modulspezifische Informationen - Stand 03. April 2020

Bitte beachten Sie die Rundschreiben zu folgenden Lehrveranstaltungen:

Meldepflicht Quarantäne/Infektion - Stand 01. April 2020

Für den Fall von Quarantäne und Erkrankung gilt: Alle Studierenden und Beschäftigten der Universität sind verpflichtet, an corona(at)uni-leipzig.de und bei Beschäftigten zusätzlich an ihren direkten Vorgesetzten zu melden, wenn bei ihnen eine Corona-Infektion festgestellt wird oder Sie vom Gesundheitsamt in Quarantäne geschickt werden. Die Funktionsmailadresse wird von der Stabsstelle Universitätskommunikation betreut und alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die Zugriff darauf haben, wurden zum Datenschutz belehrt. Nach der Weiterleitung der Nachrichten an die Verantwortlichen werden sie gelöscht. Bitte beachten Sie bei Ihrer Meldung: 

  • dass Sie Ihre Abteilung und die Dauer der Quarantäne nennen.
  • dass keine Dokumente (Atteste) an die Quarantänemeldungen angehangen werden dürfen.
  • dass die E-Mailadresse grundsätzlich nur der Meldung der Quarantäne dient.
  • dass ausschließlich gemeldet werden soll, ob es sich um eine bestätigte Infektion (Quarantäne mit Infektion) oder Quarantäne ohne Infektion handelt.
  • Weitere Erklärungen, über den Grund der Quarantäne dürfen nicht erfolgen

Informationen Erste Staatsprüfung - Stand 30. März 2020

Studierende, die im Sommersemester 2020 zur Ersten Staatsprüfung angemeldet sind bzw. im Wintersemester 2021/21 die Anmeldung anstreben, informieren sich bitte regelmäßig hier. Unter dem weiterführenden Link finden Sie häufig gestellte Fragen.

Informationen zum Semesterstart - Stand 25. März 2020

  1. Die Moduleinschreibung erfolgt planmäßig ab sofort bis zum 1.4.2020 (TOOL) und unter Vorbehalt des Angebots einiger Wahlpflichtmodule.
  2. Die Vorlesungszeit des SoSe 2020 wird am 6.4.2020 mit digitalen Lehrveranstaltungen beginnen. Dazu stellt das Studienbüro den Lehrenden nach Ablauf der Einschreibefrist die Teilnehmendenlisten aller Module bereit.  Die Lehrenden sind angehalten für den digitalen Auftakt des Semesters ‚Moodle‘ zu nutzen. Zusätzlich werden vom URZ über einen Chat-Server Möglichkeiten geschaffen, über die Lehrende und Studierende den Austausch zu Inhalten von Lehrveranstaltungen ebenso wie Beratungsgespräche abwickeln können. Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen sollen so modifiziert werden, dass die Studierenden keine Nachteile aufgrund von Studienzeitverlängerung haben. Bitte prüfen Sie für einen reibungslosen Studienablauf Ihre Uni-Mail-Postfächer täglich! Entscheiden sich Lehrende dafür, Ihre Lehrveranstaltungen per Videokonferenz zu streamen, finden die Vorlesungen ggf. zur selben Zeit, wie auf dem Stundenplan statt. Die Universitätsleitung geht noch davon aus, dass Präsenzveranstaltungen ab 4.5.2020 möglich sind.
  3. Für Abschlussarbeiten (BSc- und MSc-Arbeiten) und Vertiefungspraktika gilt folgende neue Regelung: Die Abgabe wird mit bis zu einem Monat Verspätung akzeptiert. Das in den grünen und gelben Scheinen angegebene Abgabedatum wird dazu jedoch nicht geändert. Studierende werden trotzdem gebeten, das Studienbüro zu kontaktieren, wenn die Abgabe nicht fristgerecht erfolgen kann.
  4. BSc- und MSc-Arbeiten sollen elektronisch (als PDF) im Studienbüro eingereicht werden. Diese werden dann an die Gutachtenden elektronisch weitergeleitet. Entsprechend sollen auch Vertiefungs-Protokolle elektronisch an die Betreuenden geschickt werden. Für Kolloquia gelten bis zum Beginn der Präsenzzeit die gleichen Regularien, wie unter „Informationen zum Studienverlauf – Stand 19. März 2020“ bereits erwähnt.
  5. In der gegenwärtigen Situation (Ausgangsbeschränkung, Minimalbetrieb der Universität) sollen Abschlussarbeiten und Vertiefungspraktika, die zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt Präsenz erfordern, nicht begonnen bzw. planmäßig fortgesetzt werden. Da es unwahrscheinlich erscheint, dass in den nächsten Wochen uneingeschränktes experimentelles Arbeiten möglich ist, wird folgendes, soweit umsetzbar, vorgeschlagen: Die Abschlussarbeiten und Vertiefungspraktika können ohne Präsenz im Labor z.B. als Literaturarbeit oder als Auswertung bereits vorliegender Daten durchgeführt werden. Das Protokoll kann durch eine erweiterte Einleitung, die auf einer Literatur-Recherche beruhen kann, ergänzt werden. In jedem Fall sollte eine Verlängerung der Studienzeit vermieden werden.
  6. Statt der Durchführung des ersten oder zweiten Vertiefungspraktikums im SoSe 2020 wird die Belegung von anderen Modulen mit digitalen Lehrveranstaltungen empfohlen; im Gegenzug sollen im folgenden Semester Vorlesungsmodule gegen Vertiefungspraktika getauscht werden. Für das dritte Vertiefungspraktikum kann, um die Studienzeit nicht zu verlängern, das experimentelle Arbeiten durch eine Literaturrecherche mit entsprechendem ‘Workload‘ ersetzt werden.
  7. Die Pflichtpraktika im SoSe 2020 (laut Studienverlaufsplan) werden ggf. verkürzt, aber noch innerhalb des Semesters (1.4.-30.9.2020) angeboten werden. Eine detaillierte Information dazu wird den Studierenden noch vor dem Start der Präsenzveranstaltungen bereitgestellt.
  8. Alle Klausuren und, soweit möglich, alle mündlichen Prüfungen werden auf frühestens 18.05.2020  verschoben und mindestens vier Wochen vorher angekündigt. Prüfungen, die wegen drohender Verlängerung der Studienzeit nicht aufschiebbar sind, können über Videotelefonie (z. B. Skype) abgehalten werden. Rein telefonische Prüfungen sind nicht zulässig. Bei Krankmeldungen wird bis zum Beginn des neuen Prüfungszeitraums auf ein ärztliches Attest verzichtet. Bitte melden Sie sich dennoch mit einer kurzen E-Mail im Studienbüro von den Prüfungen ab.

Information zur Moduleinschreibung - Stand 23. März 2020

Liebe Studierenden,

bitte beachten Sie nach Ablauf der Einschreibefristen, die aktuellen Stundenpläne in den Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen. Aufgrund der aktuellen Vorgaben zur Prävention der Ausbreitung von COVID-19 können einige Lehrveranstaltungen des Wahlpflichtbereichs mit geringer Teilnehmendenzahl im Sommersemester 2020 auch noch kurzfristig nicht angeboten werden. Sollte ein von Ihnen gewähltes Modul nicht stattfinden, haben Sie die Möglichkeit sich über das Studienbüro in ein anderes Modul einzuschreiben. Wir bitten diesen außergewöhnlichen Umstand zu entschuldigen.

Information zum Studienverlauf - Stand 19. März 2020

  1. Das Studienbüro ist bis auf weiteres für alle Gesprächstermine vor Ort geschlossen! Alle wichtigen Angelegenheiten müssen per E-Mail oder Telefon abgeklärt werden. Während der regulären Sprechzeiten stehen wir am Telefon für Sie zur Verfügung.
  2. Prüfungen, welche verschiebbar sind, weil dadurch kein Studienabschluss in Gefahr ist, werden frühestens ab 15. Mai stattfinden. Die neuen Termine der verschobenen Prüfungen finden Sie unter Prüfungstermine.
    Mündliche Prüfungen sollen per Videoübertragung, z.B. Skype, Zoom, Facetime, abgehalten werden. Ärztliche Atteste und Krankmeldungen müssen zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt nicht eingereicht werden.
  3. Die Moduleinschreibung findet wie geplant ab 25. März 12 Uhr bis 01. April 17 Uhr über TOOL statt.
  4. Qualifikationsarbeiten (Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten, Vertiefungspraktika) können in Absprache mit dem jeweiligen Hochschullehrer jetzt begonnen bzw. weiter bearbeitet werden. Es gelten die gleichen Fristen wie bisher. Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten sollen ausschließlich elektronisch (PDF-Dokument) im Studienbüro eingereicht werden. Das Studienbüro leitet das Dokument an die Gutachtenden weiter. Die Abgabefristen werden beibehalten. Kolloquia zu Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten sollen vorzugsweise per Videoübertragung (s.o.) abgehalten werden. Dabei führt der Erstgutachter Protokoll und vermerkt die Bestätigung des Kandidaten, dass er/sie sich gesundheitlich in der Lage fühlt, das Kolloquium zu absolvieren. Sollte für ein Kolloquium Präsenz nicht vermieden werden können, dürfen nur die zu prüfende Person und die beiden Prüfer anwesend sein.
  5. Der Beginn des Sommersemesters bleibt weiterhin der 1. April, Vorlesungsbeginn der 6. April und Vorlesungsende der 17. Juli. Lediglich die Präsenzzeiten werden bis zum 4. Mai ausgesetzt. Bis zum Beginn der Präsenzzeit sollen für Lehrveranstaltungen digitale Formate genutzt werden.
  6. Zusätzlich schließt die Kasse von Frau Mann (Zimmer 132). Die Zahlung von Glasbruch ist somit bis auf weiteres nicht möglich.

Kontakt: studienbuero(at)chemie.uni-leipzig.de

Promotion

Für Verteidigungen in Promotionsverfahren sind folgende Alternativen möglich:

  1. Die Verteidigung wird erst dann durchgeführt, wenn die Präsenzzeit für Studierende (derzeit 4.5.2020) wieder begonnen hat.
  2. Die Verteidigung findet in Anwesenheit einer beschlussfähigen Promotionskommission statt. Die Promovierenden bestätigen, dass sie mit einem Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit einverstanden und gesundheitlich in der Lage sind, die Verteidigung zu absolvieren, mit einer Unterschrift. Sollten einzelne Personen der Öffentlichkeit an der Verteidigung teilnehmen wollen, darf dies nur nach Entscheidung der Promotionskommission und unter Einhaltung eines angemessenen Abstands (mindestens 2 m) sowie unter Dokumentation der anwesenden Personen erfolgen.

Kontakt:marco.weiss(at)uni-leipzig.de

letzte Änderung: 04.04.2020

Kontakt

Studium

E-Mail

Promotion

E-Mail